技术

容器

是什么

容器是由计算机操作系统管理的具有资源和能力限制的运行进程。 容器进程可用的文件被打包为容器镜像。 容器在同一台机器上彼此相邻运行,但通常操作系统会阻止单独的容器进程相互交互。

解决的问题

在容器可用之前,需要单独的机器来运行应用程序。每台机器都需要自己的操作系统,它占用 CPU、内存和磁盘空间, 所有这些都是为了让单个应用程序运行。此外,操作系统的维护、升级和启动是另一个重要的工作来源。

如何帮助

容器共享相同的操作系统及其机器资源,分散了操作系统的资源开销并创建了物理机器的有效使用。 这种能力之所以成为可能,是因为容器之间的交互通常受到限制。 这允许更多的应用程序在同一台物理机器上运行。

但是,有一些限制。由于容器共享相同的操作系统,因此可以认为进程不如替代方法安全。 容器还需要对共享资源进行限制。 为了保证资源, 管理员必须约束和限制内存和 CPU 的使用,以使其他应用程序不会表现不佳。


最后编辑 July 22, 2022: add tags (2f7798e)

TECHNOLOGY

Containers

What it is

A container is a running process with resource and capability constraints managed by a computer’s operating system. The files available to the container process are packaged as a container image. Containers run adjacent to each other on the same machine, but typically the operating system prevents the separate container processes from interacting with each other.

Problem it addresses

Before containers were available, separate machines were necessary to run applications. Each machine would require its own operating system, which takes CPU, memory, and disk space, all for an individual application to function. Additionally, the maintenance, upgrade, and startup of an operating system is another significant source of toil.

How it helps

Containers share the same operating system and its machine resources, spreading the operating system’s resource overhead and creating efficient use of the physical machine. This capability is only possible because containers are typically limited from being able to interact with each other. This allows many more applications to be run on the same physical machine.

There are limitations, however. Since containers share the same operating system, processes can be considered less secure than alternatives. Containers also require limits on the shared resources. To guarantee resources, administrators must constrain and limit memory and CPU usage so that other applications do not perform poorly.


Last modified October 5, 2021: Help docs refactor (#235) (b30f6c4)